Gelatinous Cube

I want to make a gelatinous cube miniature.  The DDM one is ridiculously priced on ebay and the very nice ones offered on Otherworld Miniatures are a bit rich for my blood.  I picked up some cheap 1″x 1″ x 1″ acrylic fake ice cubes that are perfect – except they are too small.  I am looking for dimensions just under 2″ x 2″ x 2″.  Apparently, large faux ice cubes of roughly that very dimension were offered somewhere in the void of the interwebs but I cannot find any at the moment.  However, if you have a mold you can melt plastic beads in the oven to make fake ice cubes.  I made one out of foil but my folding skills suck.  The other option is to make a rubber mold of a sculpted cube and use clear liquid resin.  However, I am looking at investing in molding materials and resin which would exceed the cost of the manufactured miniatures I mentioned initially.  If I had other molding projects this would be the way to go.  Below is the product of the plastic bead method:

It came out slightly too big to fit down a dwarven forge hallway.  Based off of this prototype I will try again with a slightly smaller mold so that I can use a base that is just under 2″ x 2″ x 2″.

Leave a Reply

